A Letter to My Daughter

My dearest,

I don’t yet know you, but I know that I love you more than anything else in the world. I don’t know how you came to be mine, but I know that I am so grateful to be your mom. And on a day like today, I need to tell you a few things.

I am twenty-three years old. I live in New York City and I am a graduate student. Two weeks ago, I sent in my ballot to vote in the state of California for Hillary Clinton. For the first time, ever, I along with nearly 60 million other US Citizens cast their vote for a woman to become the president of our country. And that, my darling, is a huge moment in history I want to share with you.

She didn’t win. Despite winning more votes from the people, the way our democracy is structured allows for the person who wins, to not necessarily have won the most votes. I’ll explain this to you later; I will, or your civics teacher will. And who knows, maybe all that will have changed by the time you see this. But she didn’t win; and those 59,938,290 Americans, along with countless other non-nationals, are devastated.

She stood up for what was right, in a world where so so much was wrong. She gave voice to so many people who needed their voice to be heard. And mostly baby, she stood up for you! She wanted this world to be a better place, for you, and all the other kids who aren’t even here yet. She wanted to change the way things were so that one day, I could look you in the eyes and tell you, from the bottom of my heart, that you could really be anything you want to be, even the President of the United States.

I still hope and believe that one day I’ll be able to say that to you. That between now and then, someone will accomplish that which she tried to accomplish. That between now and then, the glass ceiling that makes it so that women earn 75 cents for every dollar a man earns will be shattered. That between now and then, we will live in a world where you have the right to choose how you want to take care of your body. That between now and then, someone will come to power that thinks about youand the future world that you will live in, more than they think about their own interests.

But more than anything I want to echo what she told me yesterday:

“Never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.”

This world is just as much yours as it is any man’s. I will fight. I will keep voting, I will keep struggling, I will press forward and I will tenaciously advocate for you, so long as I can. You deserve to live in the kind of world I voted for. And even though I can’t live there right now, I know one day, we both will.

I love you and I am proud of you,

Your Mother

November 10, 2016

photo credit: G.E. Raitt May 1993. 

Leave a Reply

